The most important number in Hello Alpha’s weight-loss offer is also the easiest to misread: $79 per month. That is the advertised Alpha Plus+ membership charge, not a documented all-inclusive price for a GLP-1 medicine and every service surrounding it. The distinction matters because someone can pay for access to care, receive an evaluation and still face an unaffordable prescription—or no prescription at all. A useful cost review therefore starts with what the membership purchases, rather than treating its headline as the finished monthly bill.
Hello Alpha documents a virtual weight-management program involving GLP-1 medications, nutrition and medical care. Its published materials also describe pharmacy choices, insurance exclusions and important refund boundaries. This review examines those documents as consulted October 19, 2026; that consultation date does not establish when each page was updated. The central question is whether the documented payment structure gives a prospective patient enough information to budget before paying. It answers some parts clearly, while leaving medication prices, certain external-service charges and cancellation mechanics unresolved.
At a glance
- Weight-loss membership
- Alpha Plus+ is advertised at $79 per month with four online visits monthly. The weight-loss enrollment instructions specifically direct patients to this plan.
- Separate medication budget
- Hello Alpha does not accept insurance for membership or medical fees. Some pharmacies may accept insurance for medication, with coverage requirements and possible copays.
- Government-plan restriction
- The provider says Medicare, Medicaid and other state- or federally funded plans cannot be used for prescriptions from Alpha providers; cash payment depends on the plan allowing it.Sources: [10]
- Renewals and refunds
- Memberships are billed month to month, cancellation may be requested anytime and membership fees are described as nonrefundable. The terms separately describe a pre-acceptance consultation refund exception.
- Medication channel matters
- The catalog lists multiple branded medicines and presentations. Zepbound vials are specifically advertised through LillyDirect with cash payment only.Sources: [10]
Start with the membership, not the daily equivalent
Alpha Plus+ is advertised at $79 per month, with four online visits per month and access to care for 100 conditions. Its listed areas include weight loss, diabetes, mental health, menopause, fertility and hormone health. The accompanying $2.63-per-day figure is a marketing presentation of that monthly plan, not a separate daily payment option. No introductory discount or different subsequent membership price is established in the supplied materials. The documented billing period is monthly, not four weeks.
Hello Alpha also advertises Basic at $29 per month, with two online visits and 80 conditions. That lower price should not be used as the entry price for its weight-loss program: the weight-loss instructions explicitly say to obtain Alpha Plus+. Extracted Basic-plan text includes some potentially confusing condition labels, but it does not override that specific enrollment instruction. Readers comparing providers need the price of the applicable service, rather than the least expensive membership anywhere on the website.
The membership page describes both plans as month-to-month. It does not establish an annual purchase requirement or a multi-month prepaid package. Nor does it establish that four included visits represent four prescriptions or any particular medication quantity. Our guide to monthly and four-week billing explains why the billing interval and the medicine supply should be recorded separately. Here, the membership interval is documented; the quantity and duration of each dispensed prescription are not.
| Item | Documented price or condition | Budget implication |
|---|---|---|
| Alpha Plus+ | $79 per month; four online visits monthly | The plan specified for weight-loss enrollment |
| Basic | $29 per month; two online visits monthly | Not the documented weight-loss enrollment route |
| Prescription medication | No medicine-specific dollar prices supplied | Obtain a separate pharmacy or coverage quote |
| Zepbound vial | Through LillyDirect; cash pay only | Do not apply the pen listing’s insurance language |
| Membership cancellation | Month-to-month; cancellation may be requested anytime | Fees are described as nonrefundable; renewal cutoff is unspecified |
Build the rest of the bill around the $79
The advertised membership inclusions are useful but narrower than a complete treatment budget. Hello Alpha lists messaging with the provider, health-progress tracking tools and free medication shipping among the features available with all memberships. Free shipping is a delivery benefit, not a promise of free medicine. The supplied pages do not provide medication-specific dollar prices, dispensed quantities or supply lengths. Consequently, they cannot establish the total first payment or a reliable all-in recurring monthly amount.
The company also advertises at-home testing kits and help finding local, affordable options when an in-person appointment is necessary. The evidence does not say whether those kits or outside services are included in the membership. These are concrete items to ask about, not grounds for assuming an extra fee always applies. A written estimate should distinguish membership, medication, testing and any outside appointment. The program-cost inclusions guide offers a framework for keeping those categories separate.
Tax-advantaged payment language also needs careful reading. Drug catalog entries advertise FSA/HSA eligibility, while the homepage says prescriptions generally can be paid for with an HSA or FSA and that an HSA may also be usable for membership. Those statements are not a guarantee that every expense qualifies under an individual arrangement. Before relying on that payment source, clarify the specific charge and documentation needed rather than treating the catalog label as a blanket promise about the entire program.
Insurance can change the prescription bill, not the membership fee
Hello Alpha says it cannot accept insurance for medical fees or membership fees, although some pharmacies may accept health insurance for medication. Its weight-loss page explains that coverage can depend on the condition being treated and other plan requirements. Even covered medicine may involve a copay, and the insurer may offer different copays at different pharmacies. Thus, an insured patient still needs two answers: what Hello Alpha charges directly and what the pharmacy will collect for the particular prescription.
The government-insurance restriction is especially material. Hello Alpha says Medicare, Medicaid and other state- or federally funded plans cannot be used for any prescription written by an Alpha provider. Its stated alternative is paying the cash price, if the patient’s plan permits that. This is broader than simply saying the membership is self-pay. Anyone relying on one of those plans should clarify the practical payment route before submitting a paid visit, rather than assuming ordinary prescription coverage will remain available.
There is also a defined boundary around authorization assistance. For people without type 2 diabetes, Hello Alpha says it cannot process prior authorizations for diabetes medicines used off-label for obesity, naming Ozempic, Mounjaro, Rybelsus, Trulicity and Victoza. That limitation can affect affordability even when a medicine appears in the catalog. The relevant comparison is not just insurance versus cash, but whether assistance is available for the intended prescription. Our insurance and self-pay questions can help organize that conversation.
Read the catalog by product, presentation and payment channel
Hello Alpha’s catalog advertises Foundayo, identified as orforglipron in pill form, and Wegovy in both pill and pen presentations. It also lists Ozempic pens. Those entries state that supply is available, advertise insurance or cash payment and display FSA/HSA eligibility. These are provider catalog statements, not independently verified stock or coverage guarantees. In particular, an available listing does not tell a reader what their clinician will prescribe, which pharmacy will fill it or what that pharmacy will charge.
The tirzepatide listings show why presentation matters financially. Zepbound pens and Mounjaro pens are advertised with insurance or cash payment, while Zepbound vials are listed through LillyDirect with cash payment only. The vial restriction should not disappear into a general statement that Hello Alpha accepts insurance for medication. Neither should the availability of a cash-only vial channel be converted into a claim about every tirzepatide option. Each product and presentation needs its own price and fulfillment confirmation.
The broader menu includes metformin tablets; injectable Saxenda, Trulicity and Victoza; Wellbutrin; Xenical; branded and generic naltrexone-bupropion; and Rybelsus tablets. Hello Alpha says it cannot prescribe controlled substances because of telehealth regulations. Most importantly, membership does not guarantee any prescription: its clinicians prescribe according to clinical guidelines. The catalog therefore describes possible options, not a shopping entitlement. Paying $79 cannot be interpreted as reserving a selected brand, securing insurance approval or purchasing a specified supply.
Payment precedes clinical review, so refund boundaries matter
The terms describe an intake requiring date of birth, contact details, location, credit-card information, medical history and identity verification. After intake, telehealth consent and payment, a provider is assigned to review the information and ask questions. This sequence matters financially: the payment step is not evidence that clinical suitability has already been established. It also means prospective patients should resolve readily answerable administrative questions—such as state availability and payment restrictions—before assuming that enrollment will lead to a particular treatment.
The membership page calls membership fees nonrefundable. Separately, the terms say a payment will be refunded if, before accepting the consultation, the provider determines that telehealth is inappropriate or the applicant is otherwise ineligible. Once the consultation is accepted, payment for the consultation and resulting services is described as nonrefundable. These statements should be read together without inventing a universal refund guarantee. The supplied text does not fully explain how that consultation exception applies to each membership charge.
The weight-loss page adds a specific exclusion: after submitting a weight-loss visit, patients are not eligible for an Alpha Plus+ fee refund if insurance denies prior authorization or the team cannot assist because medication requirements are not met. Cancellation is a different issue. Although patients may request it anytime, the evidence does not specify the procedure, effective date, renewal cutoff or treatment of unused visits. The cancellation and refund guide explains why stopping future charges and recovering an existing payment require separate questions.
Four visits and 24/7 messaging are not on-demand appointments
Hello Alpha presents its routine process as website-based, without needing an app download or a scheduled appointment. Its explanation of asynchronous care says patients may submit a visit anytime, but a provider reviews it when available; messaging with clinicians and support is not real-time. That distinction puts the advertised 24/7 messaging benefit in context. It describes access to a communication channel, not a documented response deadline, immediate consultation or around-the-clock emergency service. The terms limit the service to nonurgent care.
The terms allow asynchronous or synchronous communication depending on the state and condition, and say patients may request real-time communication. For subsequent visits, patients generally return to the same provider. If that provider is unavailable, they may wait or consult another available provider licensed in their state. Those arrangements offer a documented route to continuity, but not a guarantee of the same clinician every time. The supplied materials do not establish initial-review or follow-up response times.
Existing patients are directed to contact their care team through the patient portal for the fastest response, without a promised turnaround. Hello Alpha describes itself as a technology company connecting patients with licensed professionals through affiliated medical practices; its privacy policy names five such entities according to location. Its marketing describes MDs, DOs, nurse practitioners and physician assistants as board-certified professionals. That claim was not independently verified, and California consent language also allows physicians in their final residency year who are not yet board certified.
Confirm access before treating the advertised price as available
Hello Alpha requires patients to be physically located in the United States, but the supplied evidence does not establish weight-loss availability in every state. Its membership page specifies weight-loss services for adults 18 and older, subject to state law. Broader platform documents use differing age language, including consent provisions for some minors; those provisions do not establish eligibility for weight-loss treatment. Although the company specializes in women’s health, it says it can treat men and people assigned male at birth for most conditions.
The weight-loss page lists pregnancy or nursing, type 1 diabetes and a history of anorexia or bulimia as reasons not to participate. It also uses the ambiguous wording “BMI under 25-27,” with an exception involving a weight-related condition. That text does not support inventing a single numerical admission threshold. A prospective patient needs the provider to clarify its criterion rather than relying on a review to resolve it. None of these published screening statements guarantees individual eligibility or a prescription.
Language access is another practical boundary. The consent says Hello Alpha does not provide translation services; the supplied evidence does not verify Spanish-language clinical care. For medication delivery, the company offers free home shipping or sending a prescription to a nearby pharmacy for pickup, subject to product-specific channels such as LillyDirect. It also advertises cancellable automatic refills, but the sample does not specify refill intervals, related charges, dispatch times or arrival times. Membership cancellation should not be assumed to answer every refill-management question.
Clarify the prescription policy and delivery responsibilities
Hello Alpha’s weight-loss page says it prescribes only FDA-approved medications. Its general consent nevertheless allows a provider to offer or recommend a compounded medication in some circumstances. The two statements have different scopes and deserve clarification, but they do not prove that Hello Alpha offers compounded GLP-1 treatment. A prospective patient should ask which exact product is proposed and which pharmacy will dispense it. Apart from the LillyDirect reference, the supplied sample does not identify specific dispensing pharmacies.
FDA approval belongs to a specific drug product, not to Hello Alpha or its affiliated practices. FDA says compounded preparations are not approved and do not undergo its premarket review for safety, effectiveness and quality; nonapproval alone does not establish clinical inequivalence. FDA recommends compounded drugs when an individual’s medical needs cannot be met by an approved drug, with a prescription and a state-licensed pharmacy. That context should not be mistaken for evidence about an undocumented Hello Alpha compounded offering.
The evidence also leaves cold-chain procedures and replacement policies for lost or unsuitable deliveries unspecified. FDA explicitly advises not using an injectable GLP-1 medicine that arrives warm or inadequately refrigerated and contacting the provider or dispensing pharmacy. Before paying, ask who handles that problem and any replacement charge. More broadly, NIDDK describes medication selection as a discussion of health circumstances, benefits, side effects and cost, with follow-up addressing tolerance and response. A workable budget needs to support that care, not merely the next membership renewal.
Questions & answers
Is $79 the full monthly price for Hello Alpha GLP-1 treatment?
No complete treatment price is documented. The $79 charge is the advertised Alpha Plus+ membership, with four online visits monthly. Medication prices, copays and possible testing or outside-service costs are not established by that figure. Free medication shipping does not mean the medicine itself is included. Ask for a product-specific pharmacy estimate and clarification of any additional services before relying on a total budget.
Can I use the $29 Basic membership for the weight-loss program?
The specific weight-loss enrollment instructions direct patients to Alpha Plus+, not Basic. Basic is separately advertised at $29 monthly with two online visits, while Plus+ is $79 with four. Some extracted plan labels are confusing, but they do not establish Basic as the weight-loss enrollment route. Confirm the applicable plan rather than interpreting the website’s lowest general membership price as the price of GLP-1 care.
Will Hello Alpha refund the membership if insurance denies medication?
Its weight-loss page says no Alpha Plus+ fee refund is available after submitting a weight-loss visit when prior authorization is denied or the team cannot assist because requirements are not met. The terms separately describe refunds when a consultation has not been accepted because telehealth is inappropriate or the applicant is ineligible. Ask how that exception applies to the particular payment; it is not a general insurance-denial refund promise.
Can Medicare or Medicaid pay for an Alpha prescription?
Hello Alpha says Medicare, Medicaid and other state- or federally funded plans cannot be used for prescriptions written by its providers. It says patients with those plans would need to pay cash if their plan permits it. Separately, the company does not accept insurance for membership or medical fees. Clarify those restrictions before paying, even if a medicine is ordinarily covered through another care arrangement.
Does 24/7 messaging mean a clinician will answer immediately?
No immediate response is established. Hello Alpha explains that asynchronous visits are reviewed when a provider is available and that messaging is not real-time. Its terms allow synchronous communication in some circumstances, including a patient request. Existing patients are directed to the patient portal for the fastest response, without a specific deadline. The service is for nonurgent care, not emergency coverage.
Does Hello Alpha document a compounded GLP-1 program?
The supplied evidence does not establish one. The weight-loss page says it prescribes only FDA-approved medications, while general consent permits compounded medication in some circumstances without identifying a compounded GLP-1 product. That difference should be clarified, not resolved by assumption. Ask for the exact proposed medicine, presentation and dispensing pharmacy; general permission in a consent document is not a documented product offering.
Our assessment
Hello Alpha documents a recognizable service: a $79 month-to-month weight-loss membership with four online visits, messaging, tracking tools and a broad prescription menu. Its materials are particularly useful about government-plan exclusions, limits on certain prior-authorization assistance and the absence of a refund when coverage fails after a weight-loss visit. Those disclosures help distinguish paid clinical access from a promise of affordable medication. The unresolved issues are still consequential: medicine-specific prices, testing charges, cancellation timing, pharmacy identities and delivery remedies. Before paying, obtain a written explanation of the applicable membership, expected pharmacy charge, coverage-assistance scope and steps to stop both membership renewals and automatic refills. Hello Alpha’s advertised membership price is clear enough to compare as a care-access fee. The supplied documents are not sufficient to compare it as an all-inclusive GLP-1 treatment price.
This opens the reviewed business’s website. The link is not a prescription or endorsement. Commercial relationships.
Sources & documentation
Public materials consulted October 19, 2026. Provider statements are attributed claims, not independently verified clinical outcomes. Terms can change; obtain a current written quote.
- FDA concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss ↗
- NIDDK: prescription medications for overweight and obesity ↗
- Hello Alpha — servicedesk/customer/portals ↗
- Hello Alpha — terms/consent ↗
- Hello Alpha — all conditions ↗
- Hello Alpha — terms/privacy ↗
- Hello Alpha — official website ↗
- Hello Alpha — membership ↗
- Hello Alpha — terms ↗
- Hello Alpha — weight loss ↗
- Hello Alpha — how it works ↗